Police and accident reports prove critical in many personal injury lawsuits, so it is vital that you report an accident promptly in addition to making sure the report is accurate. At Ladah Law Firm, we understand that accident victims face many challenges after a crash, such as getting medical care and trying to arrange for time off from work. However, filing a report is required by the law.
Before contacting an auto accident lawyer, you should read this FAQ to better understand the ins and outs of filing a police and accident report in Las Vegas. As always, reach out to a member of our team with questions.
There are many ways to file a police report in Las Vegas. Perhaps the easiest way is to call the police to come out to the scene of the accident. The officer will fill out a report and then file it. Doing this is helpful because the officer can interview witnesses, as well as those involved in the crash, so you can find out what people thought about the accident soon after it occurred.
You should call the Las Vegas Police. If the accident happened on the freeway, then reach out to the Nevada Highway Patrol.
You can obtain a Traffic Collision Report related to your case online by visiting this link. You will need to provide basic information about the crash, such as the date/time/location or the event number, if you received it from the police officer. Most reports are available via a secure link sent to your email. You may need to wait several days after an accident before the police report is available for view.
If you have already hired an attorney, then you should contact him or her to discuss the current status of your case. Your lawyer will have a better understanding of the timeline for negotiating a settlement, which tends to be unique for each individual.
If you did not call the police to the scene of the accident, or if you called and the police did not send an officer out, then you can report an accident later using this form created by the Nevada Department of Motor Vehicles.
Nevada Revised Statutes 484E.070 requires that a driver involved in a crash report within 10 days. This requirement applies if someone suffered bodily injury or death in the accident or there was at least $750 worth of damage. Given how expensive it is to fix a car, you might as well protect yourself and report the accident just to be safe.
The form requests the following information:
You will also need to submit certain information as attachments to the form, such as a copy of your insurance, an estimate for repairs, and a doctor’s statement for each person who suffered a bodily injury. Read the form carefully to make sure you have included all required information and make copies of everything before submitting.
You must file a Report of Traffic Crash within 10 days of the accident. If you willfully fail to file a report, then NRS 484E.080 empowers the state to suspend your driving privileges. You do not have to report within 10 days if you are incapacitated, such as being in a coma.
You can request a copy of your accident report by visiting this link and providing the required information. You must have the following to obtain a Traffic Collision Report:
You can obtain a Traffic Collision Report for $10.00, which is payable by debit card or major credit card (MasterCard, Visa, or Discover). It should be provided via email using a secure link.
Some Traffic Collision Reports might not be available for viewing via email, so you might need to go pick up the report in person at a selected location. You will have 30 days to do so. After 30 days, the report is no longer available. You should bring a valid, government-issued ID with you when picking up the report.
Nevada has two laws that relate to when you must report an accident:
NRS 484E.050 requires that a driver involved in a crash with any other vehicle give “immediate notice” to the nearest police officer or highway patrol. This means you should pick up the phone and call the police. If you are too badly injured but someone else in your car can call, then they should call.
NRS 484E.070 requires that drivers file a Traffic Crash Report if an officer did not come out to the scene and the accident resulted in bodily injury/death or at least $750 in damage. You have 10 days from the date of the accident to file this report.
Sometimes, the police do not come out and investigate, especially if they believe that the accident is minor or if it happened in a parking lot and no one was badly injured. Some fender benders and minor bumps or scrapes are not investigated. Nevertheless, the law puts the burden on drivers to report the accident anyway if there has been more than minimal damage.
You can file your Report of Traffic Crash with the address provided on the form. Currently that address is 555 Wright Way, Carson City, Nevada 89711.
Most Traffic Collision Reports are available via email using a secured link. You can then print the report from your computer. If the report is not available this way, then you will need to pick it up in person.
When you fill out your request for a copy of the report, you can select the location. There are different locations available around the city, including:
The report will be available for pickup for 30 days. Make sure to bring a valid, government-issued ID (such as your driver’s license or passport) with you to pick it up.
If there was a fatal traffic collision, then the report will be available at the Metro Headquarters. There might be additional forms you will need to fill out to obtain reports related to a fatality.
What Number Can I Call to Check on a Current Accident in Las Vegas Nevada Metro?
If you have a question, such as whether a police report is available for purchase, you should call the Las Vegas Metropolitan Police Department at 702-828-3111. Have as much information about the accident available, such as the date/time/location or the event number, which will allow the staff to help you effectively.
Sometimes the responding officer does not write down information accurately. Many clients are worried that this inaccurate information will later hurt them at trial.
In truth, police reports are not admissible as evidence at trial, per NRS 484E.070(7), except to establish certain basic facts, such as the time and date of the accident and the identity of the responding officer. Also, we can work to help establish the accurate details of what happened when we negotiate with an insurance company. The police report, though helpful and necessary, is not the last word on an accident or on who is responsible for the collision.
The days and weeks following an accident are turbulent. Many motorists don’t know where to turn or even what steps to take. This is where a seasoned car accident lawyer can be a real benefit, allowing you to focus on healing from your injuries as your attorney fights for fair and justifiable compensation for your injuries. Without a lawyer by your side, many accident victims feel overwhelmed and accept too little in compensation.
For help with your case, please contact Ladah Law Firm today. One of our Las Vegas car accident lawyers can help you if you call 702-252-0055 or send us an online message. Our consultations are always free and confidential, so there is no risk to reaching out to us today.