Getting a driver’s license is a privilege, not a right, and those interested must meet certain requirements. At Ladah Law, we take road safety very seriously because we have seen how damaging accidents can be. Below, we present some of the more common questions we get asked about driver’s licenses and other related issues.
Anyone 18 or older can apply for a driver’s license without needing to get a permit first. If you are under 18, then you will need a learner’s permit for at least 6 months and must also satisfy other requirements. Any adult can apply for a driver’s license if they are a Nevada resident and are legally allowed to be in the United States. This means illegal aliens cannot apply.
To get a REAL ID compliant license, you will need to provide certain documents to establish your identity. A license that is REAL ID compliant is necessary if you want to use the license to gain access to federal buildings or before going through TSA screening at an airport.
You need the following documents:
You will also need to complete an application for a license.
This is a license that is not REAL ID compliant. You will not be able to use it to access federal buildings. You can get this authorization card if you do not have an SSN.
Those under 18 cannot apply for a driver’s license unless they have a learner’s permit first. You must be at least 15.5 years old to apply for your learner’s permit.
Those under 18 must complete new driver training. This training, often referred to as “driver’s ed,” is offered online, at local high schools, and at training facilities licensed by the DMV. There is no exemption for those who are home-schooled. If you are 18 or older, you do not need to take driver’s ed.
The course will consist of 30 hours of instruction in the classroom. Some private schools might offer a course that consists of 15 hours in the classroom and 5 hours behind the wheel.
When you complete the class, you will receive a Certificate of Completion. Hold onto this. You will submit it to the DMV when you apply to receive a full license. Some high schools issue report cards instead.
A note: You can start taking new driver training at age 15, though you cannot apply for a learner’s permit until you are 15 ½.
You can apply for your permit by going to your local Nevada DMV office and doing the following:
Your permit is valid for 1 year. You must apply for a new one if it expires. If it has been expired for 31 or more days, then you will need to take the written test again.
Those with a permit need to drive a certain amount before they can apply for a license. Nevada requires that you complete at least 50 hours of practice driving, with at least 10 of those hours at night. Someone 21 or older must be seated beside you at all times. You should keep a Beginning Driver Experience Log, which you will submit to the DMV when you apply for your full license.
Some people in rural areas cannot take a driver’s education course because one is not offered within 30 miles, and the driver cannot use the Internet to take an online class. In that case, the teen must complete 100 hours of driver training, with 10 of those hours at night.
Applicants must pass the following exams before they can get a driver’s license:
If you are under 18, you must have held your learner’s permit for at least 6 months and have completed other requirements.
Maybe not all of them. If you are at least 21, have a valid license from another state, and have moved to Nevada, you will probably only have to take the eye exam. The written test and the driving test are usually waived unless you have had a license suspension.
If you have an endorsement from another state, it will usually transfer to Nevada. Visit the DMV.
New motorcyclists can get a Class M added to their existing license by either:
If you choose to take the test, you can take it at a DMV Full Service Office. You will need to take the Class C written test along with the Class M if you do not yet hold a Class C license.
If you are under 18, you must comply with all of the state’s Teen Driving Requirements even if on your motorcycle. This means not having underage passengers and not driving between 10:00 pm and 5:00 am in most circumstances.
If you are over 18, it is up to you whether to get a permit. If you are under 18, then you must have a motorcycle instruction permit for at least 6 months. You’ll also need to complete 50 hours of supervised driving with someone who is 21 or older. Those under 18 must also complete a motorcycle safety course.
Permits are valid for 6 months if you are 18 and older, or valid for 1 year if you are under 18. A permit will expire when a minor reaches age 18.
You will probably receive a renewal notice in the mail. Even if you don’t, it is still your duty to renew your license in a timely fashion so that it does not expire.
There are several options for renewing:
If you are out of state and your renewal deadline is approaching, you can complete DMV 04 if you cannot reach a DMV office in time. You should email or call the DMV office at 877-368-7828 before taking this step, however.
The fees for renewal are always changing; call the DMV to check.
This test is required if you have had more than 2 moving violations within the past 4 years. You will also need to take a knowledge test if you had a revocation, cancellation, suspension, or denial within the past 4 years.
You can. A $10 late fee is assessed if your license has been expired for 31 or more days. You will need to take a written test if your license has been expired for at least one year. You will also need to take the skills test if your license has been expired for at least 4 years.
Yes. You can renew in person at any DMV office regardless of where you reside. Early renewal is recommended if you expect to be outside the state when your license expires.
We are a leading law firm that has handled countless motorcycle and car accident collisions. To speak with one of our lawyers, call us at 702-252-0055 today.
(Click on the top left icon of the map to filter results by type)
(Copy the code above to share & embed this map)