Renting a vehicle is a convenient method of transportation in Las Vegas. Why use public transportation when you can get a car at the airport and drive yourself wherever you want to go? Unfortunately, many drivers are unprepared for Vegas traffic, and accidents are common. If you were involved in a rental car accident in Las Vegas, you should call Ladah Law Firm. We can answer any questions you have and determine whether you can make a legal claim for compensation based on injuries.
In this article, we answer some of the most common questions we have received from members of the public regarding rent-a-car collisions.
You should always stop, even if the other car you struck had no passengers and was parked. Nevada law makes it a crime to leave the scene of an accident. Instead, stop and render assistance to anyone who needs it.
Anyone involved in a wreck should stop and share information with anyone else involved in the crash, such as:
You might not have your insurance with you at that time. Typically, your personal car insurance should travel with you and cover your rental car collision. But many people leave their insurance card at home with their car.
You also need to call the Las Vegas Police Department to report the accident as soon as possible. Use your cell phone. Getting a police report is critical if you were driving a rental car. The rental company might believe you crashed the vehicle on your own. You want to show you were involved in a wreck and that it wasn’t your fault.
You also should stop. Get all the information you would if this was a regular car accident. Also get contact information for the rental company. The driver who hit you might have insurance through the rental company, and you need a phone number to call.
Nevada law states that you must stop and try to find the car owner. You must do this even if you are driving a rental car. If you can’t find them, you must put in an obvious place on the car a note that contains your name and address.
You also need to immediately report the accident to Las Vegas PD or Nevada Highway Patrol. We recommend using your cell phone or asking to use someone else’s.
Treat this like an ordinary car accident. You will want to take pictures of the vehicles involved and talk to witnesses. A big issue will be fault—who is responsible for the collision. Nevada is a fault state, and you can only receive compensation if someone else shares fault.
You should call the following and report the accident:
Under NRS 484E.070, you must also submit a crash report within 10 days if anyone suffered bodily injuries or there was at least $750 in total damage. The only exception is if an officer came to the accident scene and submitted a crash report.
Yes. If you were involved in a wreck in our state, you should report it to the state unless a police officer did. The fact that you live in California, New York, or some other state doesn’t excuse you from reporting a collision.
Anyone with a Nevada driver’s license can have it suspended for failure to report. Nevada can’t suspend a license issued by another state, but they could report you to your state’s DMV.
You should call the rental company. There should be a number inside the car, such as a sticker inside the glove box. Or you might have a copy of your rental agreement, which should contain a number. Report the accident and ask them what you need to do. Many rental companies will have a crash report form that you need to complete.
Probably. Most rental cars will require that you pay to fix the car, even if you were not at fault for the collision. However, you might have purchased an optional Collision Damage Waiver or Loss Damage Waiver through the rental car company. This waiver kicks in and should cover most (or all) of the cost of repairs.
In other situations, you might have collision coverage through your credit card. Many popular cards like American Express and Chase offer rental collision coverage. If you used the card to rent the vehicle, then you can usually tap this insurance to pay for car repairs.
You might also have collision and/or comprehensive insurance for your car back home. In many cases, this insurance “travels with you” and will cover damage to your rental.
Paying to fix a rental car is one of the most stressful issues. You weren’t at fault for the collision, but now the rental company wants you to pay tens of thousands of dollars to fix the vehicle. You also could have multiple, overlapping policies. An experienced attorney can work with the rental company and your insurers to hammer out which policy applies.
You will need to establish fault for the accident. We recommend contacting Ladah Law Firm to discuss your case.
Yes. There are many advantages to hiring local counsel. For one thing, if there’s a lawsuit, we are qualified to represent you in court. Your lawyer back home will need special permission to practice in a Nevada courtroom.
We are also knowledgeable about the insurance companies in Nevada and our laws regarding car accidents. A lawyer in California or Michigan might be terrific, but they don’t know our laws.
Ladah Law Firm is incredibly comfortable with technology, and we will remain in close contact with you about your case even if you live thousands of miles away. We do not believe in leaving clients in the dark about what is happening with their car accident case.
Not without talking to a lawyer. Recorded statements are tricky, because the person on the other end might be fishing for information to use against you. For example, if they can prove you are partially at fault, they can minimize the amount of compensation paid to you.
This is possible in some situations. Nevada law requires that anyone registering a vehicle carry minimum insurance, and this law applies to rental companies. Consequently, there should be at least $25,000 in bodily injury coverage per person, up to $50,000 per accident available. Nevada also requires at least $20,000 in property damage.
If the driver who hit you was uninsured, you can make a claim with the rental company. You can also make a claim if the at-fault driver’s policy limits are below those listed above.
You might also sue them for compensation when they lease dangerous vehicles or lease to an underage driver.
We are happy to help anyone hurt in a collision while visiting Vegas. Call us today to speak with one of our attorneys at (702) 252-0055.