Skip to Main Content

What Happens after a Car Accident in Vegas?

Las Vegas Car Accident

Las Vegas is one of the top destinations for travelers in the United States, so it is no surprise that traffic is jammed most hours of the day. Whether you are a long-time resident or a visitor hoping to strike it rich at the casinos, getting into a car accident in Vegas is a huge headache. Fortunately, our Las Vegas car accident attorney is available to answer any questions you have.

Do I Have to Stop My Vehicle after an Accident?

Yes! Nevada Revised Statutes 484E.010 and 484E.020 state that someone involved in a crash that causes damage or injury should “immediately stop” their vehicle as close to the accident as possible.

Traffic is So Busy in Vegas, Do I Really Have to Stop?

Yes. Of course, the law also says you can pull out of the way if you are blocking traffic. So it is acceptable to pull to the side of the road so people can get by. If you are in a part of Vegas where you don’t feel comfortable, then stay in your vehicle and only roll down the window enough to swap information with the other driver. Stay in your car until an officer arrives.

Should I Call the Police after an Accident?

Yes. Again, Nevada law instructs everyone involved in an accident to call the police immediately to report the accident. You can call the police or, if you were injured on the highway, the State Highway Patrol.

What Information Should I Swap Following a Vegas Accident?

You will want the following from the other driver:

  • Name
  • Address
  • Phone number
  • Vehicle registration information
  • Driver’s license number
  • Insurance information

You should provide the same to all drivers. If multiple vehicles were involved, get information from everyone.

Las Vegas Car Accident

Do I Have to File a Traffic Crash Report?

It depends. If an officer came out to the scene, he or she should file the report. Sometimes, though, an officer doesn’t respond, in which case you should file a report if someone was injured in the wreck or there was at least $750 worth of damage. Given how expensive it is to fix a car, any damage to a car could put you over the threshold, so it is best to file the report.

How Long Do I Have to File a Traffic Crash Report in Nevada?

You have 10 days from the date of the accident. You should avoid delays, if possible.

What Happens if I Don’t File a Police Report?

You could face a license suspension for a year. If you are caught driving on a suspended license, you have committed a crime.

What Should I Do if I Am Badly Hurt?

If you were seriously injured in a car accident, you should ask someone to call emergency services so that an ambulance can take you to the hospital. After the wreck, ask anyone at the scene if they need an ambulance and call if you can.

Should I Talk to the Police Officer Who Comes Out?

The officer will probably want to talk to everyone involved in the wreck. If you are drunk or committed some other crime that led to the crash, you might want to decline talking to the officer. But in most cases you can answer the officer’s questions.

Las Vegas Car Accident

Should I Collect Evidence at the Scene?

Yes. Use your smartphone to get pictures of all sides of the vehicles involved. Make sure the pictures show the full damage to each vehicle.

You should also identify any witnesses. Politely ask for their name and contact information.

What if I Was Renting the Vehicle?

You will want to share the rental information with the other driver. You should also report the accident to the rental company as soon as possible.

What if I Was in an Uber or Lyft?

You can still make a claim for compensation for your injuries, but you might end up suing your own ride-share driver or the driver of another vehicle on the road. Get the information listed above for all drivers and share your own personal information. You should also identify witnesses and take pictures of damage to the vehicles.

Do I Have to Go to the Hospital if I Feel Fine?

You should. The reality is that some injuries are slow to develop. You might feel “fine” immediately after the accident, but that could be adrenaline masking pain. Concussions, back injuries, and spinal cord injuries might not manifest for a few days.

Even a minor accident can cause long-lasting injuries. A simple jolt to the body could cause nerve damage, pain, and possibly a traumatic brain injury or whiplash.

Should I Report the Accident to My Insurance Company?

Yes. Report the accident as soon as possible. Your insurer will want some basic information such as the date and time of the collision, and the identity of the other driver, and their insurance information. If you have a police report number, share it also. This information should be sufficient to start the claims process. Your insurer will be in touch with you when they need more information.

When Should I Call an Attorney?

We recommend reaching out to a Las Vegas car accident attorney as soon as possible. The at-fault driver’s insurer might be contacting you soon, and it’s best to be represented by legal counsel throughout the entire negotiation process.

Should I Give a Statement to the Insurance Companies?

No. You shouldn’t give any statement until you have hired a lawyer to represent your best interests. A little-known fact about Nevada car accident law is that our state follows a “modified contributory negligence” scheme.

Under this law, someone who is more than 50% responsible for an accident cannot receive compensation. And someone who is 50% or less at fault will have their compensation reduced in proportion.

The reality is that some people are confused after an accident, and they might say something they don’t mean. But these words will be used against them later when it comes time to negotiate a settlement.

I Don’t Even Live in Vegas, Should I Wait to Hire an Attorney Back Home?

There are enormous benefits to working with local counsel when negotiating a settlement. For one, we know all the big insurers in Vegas. We also understand the layout of the city and are better equipped to reconstruct how the accident happened.

More importantly, a lawyer outside Nevada might not be able to negotiate a settlement on your behalf because they don’t know Nevada law. And they certainly can’t file a lawsuit in Nevada if they are not a member of our state’s bar. Using local counsel makes the process easier. And with Zoom and the internet, we can stay in instant contact with our clients around the country.

What are the Steps for Getting Compensation for My Accident?

The insurance companies will need to investigate the wreck. Sometimes, no one disputes what happens. But in other cases, each driver points the finger at the other for being responsible.

The other driver’s insurer will look at many factors when making a settlement offer—your medical bills, the seriousness of your injuries, who is at fault, and the policy limit. It’s not surprising that many initial settlement offers are low.

How Long Does it Take to Get a Fair Settlement?

The process is different for each case. If fault is not in dispute, you might get a settlement check in six months. But if there are major questions about fault or the severity of your injuries, a case could take over a year to conclude.

Can Ladah Law Help Me?

Yes! We have represented accident victims for years and are well versed on car accidents in Vegas. To learn more, contact us us by phone at (702) 252-0055 or reach out to us online for a free, no obligation initial consultation.